https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

What's been our greatest comeback

Started by Rhys Lightning 63, October 31, 2012, 09:01:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zzamora

Quote from: Rhys Lightning 63 on November 01, 2012, 10:06:16 AM
Quote from: HatterDon on November 01, 2012, 02:35:51 AM
Since I'm a relative rookie, I have to say Juve and Newcastle at home last season.

Newcastle at home last year, we were only 1 - 0 down. They then scored with about 5 minutes to go to make it 5-2

Why does a comeback have to be impressive only if its from a big scoreline?

Considering how Newcastle dominated/ were dominating the league it's pretty impressive to stick 5 past them.

Oakeshott

Bearing in mind that, to the best of my belief, we have never beaten Arsenal away, and until a 0-0 three or four years ago achieved by disciplined defending in which Brede was exceptional, had only taken one point off them at Highbury/ the Emirates, one of Fulham's great come-backs was when we were two nil down at Highbury (I think at half time) and scored twice quite early on after the break to make it 2-2, the eventual result.

It was a mid winter game in the mid/late 60s and although they were about the first side to get under-soil heating, the Arsenal pitch was very treacherous after frost and snow and players on both sides were constantly losing their footing. The reason we drew was that one of our players, Bobby Howfield I think, whom we had quote recently signed from ? Watford, switched his boots at half time for the 1960s equivalent of trainers and for some reason they gave him far more grip than the other players got from their boots. As a consequence he was able to get the better of the Arsenal defenders and I'm almost sure he got both our goals.

TonyGilroy

Quote from: Scrumpy on October 31, 2012, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: cusackdribble on October 31, 2012, 10:23:59 PM
I remember going to a home game against Hull where we were 3-0 down after about 15 mins and managed a draw