watch games Not being broadcast in the UK For
more Information and how to Sign Up go to
https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

Sparky Fancy's A Crack At The England Job

Started by White Noise, February 27, 2011, 10:42:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

White Noise

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/02/27/2371057/fulham-boss-mark-hughes-im-a-british-manager-and-would-never-say-

Fulham boss Mark Hughes: I'm a British manager and would never say no to England

Sparky ready for new international role

By Matthew Woodward

27 Feb 2011 09:07:00

Fulham boss Mark Hughes has stated that he would never turn down the opportunity to replace England manager Fabio Capello, as it is "one of the top jobs in world football".

Hughes will return to Eastlands on Sunday for the first time since being sacked by Manchester City back in 2009, but is looking for a position much higher than the one he previously occupied with the Citizens.

The 47-year-old claimed that nobody would question him for taking the helm of another international team such as Spain or France, and argues why it should be any different with the soon-to-be available England role.

"I'm a professional football manager and the England manager's job is one of the top jobs in world football," said Welshman Hughes, according to The News of the World.

"Would I have any qualms about taking Italy or Spain if it was presented? No.

"So why would I have a problem taking the England job if it was offered to me? I wouldn't.

"To be a manager you need longevity and those jobs present themselves from time to time.

"I've managed Wales, but that wouldn't stop me taking another job with an international team. I'm a British manager."

Despite being open to the role, Hughes admits that Tottenham manager Harry Redknapp is most likely to land the job.