https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

Wednesday Fulham Stuff - 18/09/19...

Started by WhiteJC, September 18, 2019, 07:58:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WhiteJC

Fulham loanee Jerome Opoku ready to play anywhere for Accrington

Accrington Stanley's Jerome Opoku

ACCRINGTON Stanley's Jerome Opoku says his team mates are going to Wycombe Wanderers with a positive mindset in the hope that they can come back to East Lancashire with the three points.

Opoku insists he will play wherever his manager John Coleman needs him to in order to help the team.

The Fulham loanee is a centre half by trade, but made his Reds debut at left-back in the 3-1 defeat to Sunderland on Saturday.

"It's going to be a tough one but I think the lads and the manager, we all know what we've got to do now and he's told us for a while, so we're just going to get the three points and go there with a positive mindset, forget about this and just try and get the win," said Coleman.

Opoku made his Reds debut as he played 90 minutes in the loss at the Wham Stadium.

He impressed at left-back and will look to make the place his own throughout the season to maximise his playing time.

"On a personal note, I was delighted to get the start and get 90 minutes under my belt so it was good, but as a team we expect to do better, so now it's about focusing on the next game on Tuesday and getting the win," he said.

"I'll play wherever the manager really wants me to play, and I've played left-back a couple of times, obviously my main position is at centre-back but I'll do a job there also, so that doesn't phase me at all."

Stanley's defending was criticised in Saturday's defeat and Opoku thinks his side need to be better together at the back.

"We didn't group together and defend properly, so now I think we're just looking at how to tighten up the back four and as a collective to just defend properly and deal with them little mistakes that we're making."