watch games Not being broadcast in the UK For
more Information and how to Sign Up go to
https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

Malcolm McDonald

Started by Andy S, February 16, 2013, 09:23:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy S

Fulham More or less gave this guy away in the 70's. for 20,000 to Alec Stocks Luton. If We had kept him could we have bounced back to the top flight. We converted him into a forward (He had been a full Back) He was successful wherever he played. He came back as a marketing officer I believe & then  Manager after his career was over. Are there any other players who have had much success after leaving for peanuts

St Eve

Apprentice to the Maestro

Too many. You can add Mullery, Allan Clarke, Paul Parker and Louis Saha, for example.

St Eve

But they didn't really leave for peanuts

Bradstow

Quote from: St Eve on February 16, 2013, 11:02:23 PM

2.5m for Mullery and 4m for Clarke in today's money values - I call that peanuts! Today I would guess 15m and 25m respectively!
Don't speak wisdom into the ears of fools.

cmg

Still baffles me after all these years.

At the start of the 1968-9 we were in desperate need of a number of things, the foremost of which was a goalscorer. We had just been relegated, our outstanding striker, Allan Clarke had departed, Steve Earle had a long-term injury, our star names were ageing and/or injury prone. We then went on a run of six games without scoring. Some sort of miracle was needed.

Malcolm Macdonald (18 years old, born in Finlay Street) had been signed form Tonbridge in the summer as a full-back. He played in three pre-season friendlies at left-back, but somebody must have seen something in him because he started the season as the Combination (reserves) team centre-forward. And he scored goals. 5 in his first 5 matches.