watch games Not being broadcast in the UK For
more Information and how to Sign Up go to
https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

NFR - WTF

Started by Vinnieffc, July 10, 2013, 04:47:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vinnieffc

I just got turned down for a job that I am perfectly (over)qualified for working on a government contract because - I'm IRISH. Apparantly I can't get security clearance !! Emailed them back citing the fact that I spent 15 years with a major international airline where I was cleared for airsine operations at Heathrow (bypassing immigration/passport control and customs). How much bloody security clearance do they need ?  As an IT engineer I have a long a successful background as a trusted employee. Sorry to all you FoFers but just needed to unload. Livid Vinnieffc.

COYSW :012:

Holders

Was it MoD security clearance? If so, you can eventually get it for Irish but it takes ages and ages (months to years) and they probably weren't prepared to wait to fill the vacancy.
Non sumus statione ferriviaria

WhiteJC

do you have a british passport? if you do then where ever you (or your parents) were born shouldn't matter?

Vinnieffc

Quote from: WhiteJC on July 10, 2013, 04:54:00 PM
do you have a british passport? if you do then where ever you (or your parents) were born shouldn't matter?

No I don't. I'm eligible for one but not sure I can be bothered going through the process. Just letting off a bit of steam because I am a perfect fit for the post and they are perfect for me (the HR department have said so as well). Ah well - probably shouldn't have posted this but thought I'd share my frustration with my Fulham Family. Onwards and upwards  :016:

rusty shackleford

I am Irish and ive been turned down for jobs because I am grossly unqualified. Life is cruel

Holders

If it's MoD clearance (blue form) that's the reason. I've got clearance for an American in the past but for some reason Irish presents more problems, don't know why.