News:

Use a VPN to stream games Safely and Securely 🔒
A Virtual Private Network can also allow you to
watch games Not being broadcast in the UK For
more Information and how to Sign Up go to
https://go.nordvpn.net/SH4FE

Main Menu

Which european league is the MLS most like?

Started by General, September 07, 2016, 11:35:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

General

I started drawing comparisons between the Championship and MLS due to the high volume of former stars who've moved to both leagues with either something to prove or to withdraw their last pay packet.

I then realised, whilst MLS has had the likes of Henry, Beckham, Keane etc and it still appeals as a pay packet to top stars for when they're at the end of their career all those players despite not really being able to compete week in week out in the premiership seem to all flourish a bit more in the U.S, something I'm not sure many have done in regards to the championship.

I am aware that the Championship is actually the fourth largest league in terms of cash flow in Europe after the premier league, la Liga and I think Serie A (although perhaps bundesliga?).. And so even with the Championship having comparisons is it actually unfair to say they're a similar level and is the MLS actually more like perhaps a second division on the continent, or perhaps the Scottish League?

I have seen a bit of the MLS due to interest in wanting to see how the likes of Gerrard and Lampard, Pirlo etc are doing, but they still seem to be an old boys club who're finding things relatively easy despite their old age and some of the quality in the MLS is to be fair atrocious...

Any ideas on which league we can compare MLS to? It obviously is coming on leaps and bounds and will start to improve the quality with home grown players (although I still expect the best to go to Europe).. but that's a while off. Most of the USMNT squad ply their trade in Europe I believe if not at least got their training here.

westcliff white